Uncategorized

Distress Oxide Ink-Part 2

I put a few of the design try outs onto some A2 card fronts made from Neenah bright white card stock.They  show some of the possibilities that can be done when just trying out and playing with new art supplies. In part 1 I showed what the inks would do on different papers and here are a few more results added in to show some the Tim Holtz Ranger oxide distress ink versatility.

  • I took the insert done(in part 1) on Neenah white cardstock with the mahogany distress stain and fired brick distress oxide ink and “Gothic” layering stencil . I added an “Artist” stamp from Tim Holtz’s Stampers Anonymous “French Market” clear stamps. I stamped in the fired brick and lightly spritzed it with water and then stamped directly over it with Ranger Archival black ink and it looks almost 3D. The amazing part is the color difference of the ink reaction. The mahogany paper looks pinkish with the fired brick oxide but the fired brick oxide on the white paper looks orangish-red. Same Paper, same ink, this will give you some idea of its versatility

Next up  is a card front I made with the Neenah white card stock and the faded jeans oxide ink.

  • The card stock was inked with a foam applicator completely in the blue ink. I then placed a chevron stencil by Recollections Color Splash “Life Is Wonderful” set and spritzed water through the stencil and immediately blotted it with a paper towel.

It really looks like faded jeans now.

  • For the sentiment I added a stamp from the same “Life is Wonderful” set and stamped it in regular distress faded jeans ink first and the offset the image to the left a little with the faded jeans oxide ink.
  • The image was spritzed with water, dried and finally I added a some drips of fired brick oxide, by mixing it with water directly on my craft sheet to coordinate the ribbon accent.

The next image was inked with worn lipstick, spiced marmalade, fossilized amber and some peeled paint oxide distress ink. I wet the whole sheet and let it dry.

  • I  put Tim Holtz’s doily stencil and inked it a second time in each color over the inked paper. The image was backed in a cooridinating green color of scrap paper I had, in order to bring out more of the green color. The embellishment flower was done with  Sizzix Alterations Die “Tattered Florals” on white card stock. Broken china and wilted violet oxide ink were applied and sprinkled with water droplets for a nice spring rainbow theme.

img_07751

The last one, is the image I made on the Canson watercolor paper with the analogous color scheme (colors next to each other on the color wheel, one being a primary color) of wilted violet, peeled paint and broken china oxide inks. I made it by simply putting foam mounting stickers on black paper and then placing the image on white card stock and edged with wilted violet oxide ink. It reminds me of Monet’s water lilies paintings, calm and inviting.

Here are all four completed images  along with a bonus card I made using peeled paint, faded jeans and broken china oxide inks with cooridinating distress brushed first across the watercolor paper. There are three different techniques shown ( direct stencil layering, stencil  color lifting, stencil oxides over dark ink  wash ) Amazing how one set of inks can give so much diversity in use. I will experiment on other surfaces soon and I will share the results with you.

img_07821

Here are some of the items I used in my designs. These are clickable links to buy from Amazon.com. I use an affiliate account to help fund the web costs. Consider it my tip jar if you like what you see and want to purchase anything, it doesn’t cost you anything and Amazon reimburses me. Enjoy

5 thoughts on “Distress Oxide Ink-Part 2”

    1. Thanks. The flowers were made using the Tim Holtz layering stencil “Blossom ” . I started with the stencil first, but with the layering of colors it got washed out. So on the last layer I reapplied the stencil and layered in the flowers again with the wilted violet oxide ink on the last layer, gave it a light mist to activate it and dried it really quick with a heat gun, so the ink didn’t spread. Hope that helps.

      Like

  1. Hi Lisa. Love your site and your beautiful cards. I’ve pinned for future reference. Just wanted to let you know that the paper is spelled Neenah not Nina. If your readers try to find it online they might not be able to find it if they Google Nina.

    Like

Leave a comment